A Pluckeye Forum

A place for Pluckeye users to chew the cud.

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-01-02 23:42:45

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

OS: Linux Mint 18.3
Pluckeye is the most recent version, running at Level 2
24 hour delay on updates
Running most recent Chromium release

The Minecraft launcher was able to connect out to amazon web services and to the Minecraft authentication servers yesterday prior to installing PluckEye.  The only major software change on the computer is PluckEye.

My son and I have a private server hosted downstairs on another computer.  However, if the application can't authenticate to Minecraft home base, it won't allow a connection to my local server from the game client.

Any ideas on how I can unblock the application?

Thanks,
chris

Last edited by ctlw83 (2018-01-03 09:37:10)

Offline

#2 2018-01-03 23:17:24

jon
Administrator
Registered: 2017-01-10
Posts: 111

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

ctlw83 wrote:

application can't authenticate to Minecraft home base . . .

Any ideas on how I can unblock the application?

You can either allow the domains or IPs Minecraft uses, or you can whiteout the Minecraft program.  Here's how you can see what domains Minecraft uses:

touch /tmp/pluckeye_url_log
# start Minecraft
tail /tmp/pluckeye_url_log

Do follow up and let us know how you got it working!

Offline

#3 2018-01-04 01:33:06

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Offline

#4 2018-01-04 01:44:05

jon
Administrator
Registered: 2017-01-10
Posts: 111

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

Hmm.  That probably won't work because https url rules only affect browsers, not programs such as Minecraft.

So instead of this:

pluck add "allow https://s3-1.amazonaws.com"

you need to use just the hostname and allow all traffic to it, like so:

pluck add "allow s3-1.amazonaws.com"

or, more generally:

pluck add "allow amazonaws.com"

However, you may not really want to allow amazonaws.com long-term; it's a content delivery server that can host all kinds of content.

The following should be relatively safe, even if amazonaws.com isn't:

allow msgamestudios.com
allow mojang.com

Some alternatives to waiting:

1. Drop your delay while configuring rules for minecraft.

2. Use expedite.

Offline

#5 2018-01-04 02:35:46

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

I updated the add rules but, have no issue waiting a day or so for Minecraft.  I play with my son, which is great, but, I am also not so in a hurry that I want to mess around with trying to drop the delay and such.

Out of curiosity, you had mentioned being able to "allow" the application itself.  How would you go about that?  Wouldn't it be easier to whitelist the application rather than the sites it connects to?

Offline

#6 2018-01-05 09:38:06

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

Tried Minecraft again this morning and re-did the logging, no dice:
no https://s3-1.amazonaws.com
ok https://webservice.accountable2you.com
ok http://mcupdate.tumblr.com/
no https://mcupdate.tumblr.com
no https://minecraftprod.rtep.msgamestudios.com
no https://d1dulol58c5ch1.cloudfront.net
ok https://webservice.accountable2you.com
no https://authserver.mojang.com
no https://authserver.mojang.com
ok https://webservice.accountable2you.com

Minecraft still can't authenticate.  I will try uninstalling and reinstalling Minecraft to see if that makes a difference.  I don't think that it will but, anything is possible.  Any other ideas?

Offline

#7 2018-01-05 09:46:50

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

Also just discovered it blocks the computer from downloading packages from Oracle to install Java.  This is when using Sudo/Admin permissions on the computer.  I thought that perhaps I was using something weird for my java virtual machine (Minecraft is a java app) and attempted to install it straight from Oracle.  Connection failed to download from there as well.

Re-downloading Minecraft didn't correct the issue either.  Open to ideas.

Last edited by ctlw83 (2018-01-05 09:52:08)

Offline

#8 2018-01-05 16:53:04

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

I'm also going to post this on the sub-Reddit, that way those who aren't on the forums can contribute.

Offline

#9 2018-01-06 00:23:46

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

Well, I attempted to Whitewash Minecraft and Minecraft.jar.  I also set it up to change my delay to 10s which will go into effect tomorrow night.  It is only temporary until I get things up and running.

I also went through and ran the "Allow" commands again for the proper domains.  We'll see what happens tomorrow night.

Offline

#10 2018-01-06 10:34:00

RNYC
Moderator
Registered: 2017-01-14
Posts: 115

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

I'm using some recent version of Debian here. Pluckeye 0.60.1 (Eek version) is at level 2.

I have never used Minecraft before so just registered for a free trial. The .jar downloaded fine. When I ran it, my username and password "connected" in the sense that it downloaded a bunch of assets. It tried to launch the game and had a failure - probably because I have the wrong Java engine here...I just used what I had without even seeing whose flavor it was.

Here is my log:

[05:27:21 INFO]: Launching game
[05:27:21 INFO]: Unpacking natives to /root/.minecraft/versions/1.12.2/1.12.2-natives-13006024604332
[05:27:21 INFO]: Launching in /root/.minecraft
[05:27:21 INFO]: Half command: /usr/lib/jvm/java-7-openjdk-i386/jre/bin/java -Xmx512M 
[snip]
[05:27:21 ERROR]: Game ended with bad state (exit code 1)

Am I getting farther than you are?

My only new Pluckeye rules for this adventure were

allow minecraft.net
allow mojang.com

Offline

#11 2018-01-06 10:53:08

RNYC
Moderator
Registered: 2017-01-14
Posts: 115

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

My son and I have a private server hosted downstairs on another computer.  However, if the application can't authenticate to Minecraft home base, it won't allow a connection to my local server from the game client.

Did you allow the IP of your home server?

My experience is that if the server is 192.168.1.2, you need to use

Allow 2

Offline

#12 2018-01-07 00:42:24

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

Hey,

The application started working after the delay ran out from yesterday!  However, still working on connecting to the server.  Just did the allow of the sub-ip from my router.  Will see if that works.

Offline

#13 2018-01-07 00:51:12

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

Nope, still failing to connect to the server....SIGH.  Well, one step closer I guess.  Going to keep trying some things.

Offline

#14 2018-01-07 13:35:09

ctlw83
Member
Registered: 2018-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

My wife actually inspired me to make a decision.  Tanya knows about my internet struggles and understands my need to protect myself from myself.  However, she said the following last night:

"I understand you need to protect yourself but, you are spending way too long trying to get this to work so that you can spend time playing a game with your son."

So, I've made the decision to set Pluckeye back to level 1.  I only have Chromium installed and I also have FoxFilter and Accountable2You running.  If it becomes a problem and I download another browser to circumvent Pluckeye or FoxFilter, I'll throw it back into Level 2.

Offline

#15 2018-01-08 16:16:39

jon
Administrator
Registered: 2017-01-10
Posts: 111

Re: Level 2 Seems to Have Blocked Minecraft

ctlw83 wrote:

"I understand you need to protect yourself but, you are spending way too long trying to get this to work so that you can spend time playing a game with your son."

That's not exactly the Pluckeye spirit. :-/

I regret that Pluckeye is awkward to configure for Minecraft and/or nigh incomprehensible to the lay-person outside of the browser.  I was hoping you'd be able to come up with a recipe for the linux-using Minecrafter that could be of use to others.

Some alternatives to waiting:

1. Drop your delay while configuring rules for minecraft.

2. Use expedite (your wife could be the person who approves your changes; so could RNYC or me or somebody else).

If you want to allow minecraft on linux (and all java executables) while Pluckeye is at level 2:

pluck add "Program java whiteout"

You can, of course, continue to use FoxFilter and Accountable2You whether Pluckeye is installed or not, or at level 1 or 2.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB